Dates are so good!

You guys, dates are delicious! Who would have thought a brown, shriveled up leathery thing would taste like vanilla brown sugar goodness?! They are my favorite dried fruit, so far. Not surprisingly, they’re really good for you (like most shriveled up brown things are) they are high in, like, all the b”something” vitamins, cholesterol free, protein rich, and they have lots of dietary fiber (another shriveled up brown thing’s thing). Some people would list this as a con, but to me it’s a huge pro: dates are 80% fructose. That’s right, 80% sweet sugary goodness. That’s what makes it taste so good! http://www.onegreenplanet.org/natural-health/dares-and-your-health-the-ideal-food/ (more about dates)

I bought my first pack of dates this weekend to try in a granola bar recipe (thanks Mckenzie for the referral!). As I was chopping them up, I had to try one. Mmmm. So good. I got worried though, because after I ingested one, I realized the pit looks so much like a pecan! Then I had to google it to make sure that this wasn’t like, “where pecans come from”. On my allergy tests (and in real life experience) I’m more deathly allergic to treenuts than any other thing (even peanuts!). We are good, though. They are, in fact, just a seed. 

Back to the recipe: The granola bars turned out great! Next time, I’ll make them in a 9×13 pan (instead of 9×9) to let them get a little crunchier. Here’s the source: http://happyhealthymama.com/2012/08/banana-oat-bars-vegan-gluten-free-nut-free.html

  
1 cup dates finely chopped

3 very ripe bananas

1/2 cup oat flour (I just put some oats in the blender to make the flour)

2tbs baking oil (I used olive) 

1 1/2 cups crispy brown rice cereal

1 cup oats

Mix ins- I added enjoy life dairy free chocolate chips 
Preheat oven to 350. Later the bottom of a 9×13 pan with parchment paper. Mix all ingredients together. Spread in pan. Bake 15 min or until top turns golden brown. 

Leave a Reply

