“I can’t believe it’s not cake!”

I’ve been having dreams. Dreams about cake and frosting. It’s like my subconscious is trying to tell me it misses something. I’ve been pretty afraid to try gluten free baking again. I even got the baking bug the other night and made good old fashioned lemon bars that I couldn’t even eat. I’ve just been scared to try because gf flour is so stupid expensive and the recipe has to be a tried and true one. I finally got the courage up to try it again (my last batch of pumpkin muffins ended up in the garbage and kind of kept me from wanting to try gf recipes again). But the dreams have been speaking to me so, I made my first gluten/egg/dairy free cake today! Oh man, what a time to be alive! When you can have your fake cake and eat it too. Obviously, I got the recipe on Pinterest. It’s actually just a lemon “crazy cake” recipe (ya know, the ones from the depression era that don’t use milk, butter, or eggs) and then I subbed the flour for a King Arthur gf all purpose flour mix. I also made a lemon glaze with powdered sugar, rice milk, lemon, and vanilla. The recipe (for the cake) called for lemon extract, does anyone even use lemon extract? I don’t. So I just halved the water and added 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I love it! It’s cake that actually comes out of the pan in one piece!! 

Here’s the link I used http://www.sweetlittlebluebird.com/p/crazy-cakes.html?m=1

Here’s my modified recipe:

-Preheat oven to 350

1 1/2 cups plus 3tbs gluten free all purpose flour mix (I’ve heard this works with your own mixes as well) 

1 cup sugar

1tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbs lemon zest (about two lemons, save for juice) 

-mix these dry ingredients together in a greased 8″ square pan. Make three impressions (two small, one big) in the first small impression, put 

1 tsp white vinegar

In the other small impression put:

1 tsp vanilla extract

In the large impression, put:

5 tbs vegetable oil

Then squeeze lemons into a 1 cup measuring cup (should fill half way) then fill the rest with water and pour over mixture. Mix until smooth. Bake for 35 min or until toothpick comes out clean.

Glaze:

I kind of eye balled all of this, but if you’ve made any kind of glaze before you know what kind of a consistency you are looking for. Mix powdered sugar, lemon juice, and rice milk together until desired consistency. Add a little vanilla if desired. Pour over hot cake. Enjoy! 

   

Leave a Reply

